Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Merkins

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 24, 2020
Hi Folks

New member from the UK here. Since getting my 1st ipad my computer use has become entirely tablet based. So I am horrendously out of date. I have no computer/software skills I’m just a user with a love of tech and gadgets. I've been lurking since 2007. So despite coming to the conclusion that my next purchase will likely have to be a windows machine I feel more comfortable asking for advice here.

Due to poor health I’m mostly housebound. I’m a writer and artist who’s worked up until now exclusively with canvass and paper. I suddenly find myself in a position where I can follow my hobbyist dream of learning how to be a digital artist. I’d hoped to purchase a surface studio 3 but it seems to have been delayed and I can’t wait.

My budget is around £6k to include the tower, monitors, graphics tablet and accessories such as a means of scanning the map if photography is not viable. I have just purchased a surface book 3 and ipad pro out of desperation following many failed attempts to purchase a dell system during their recent sale. They haven’t arrived yet, but yes I have buyers remorse, and no I probably won’t return them unless my £6k is insufficient.

I’m happy to purchase something that is overkill for my current needs as I’ll never be in a position to make such a purchase again and I want it to last at least 10yrs. What I’m fearful of is blowing the cash on stuff that doesn’t meet my needs and/or buying something that is incompatible with other purchases.

So I have the 15 inch touch device, but want a larger non mobile graphics tablet, 3 monitors and a tower. But the more I research the more I realise how abysmal my knowledge is. I don’t even know if my use case is possible with the budget I have and every attempt at using a retailers custom build facility ends in utter confusion.