Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

revmacian

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 20, 2018
USA
I currently have a 2017 MacBook Pro - 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, 2 TB3 ports, non-Touch Bar - and it works perfectly. I recently bought a Smart TV - TCL model 43S405 - to use with my Apple TV 4K. The Smart TV works great with the Apple TV, but I'm wondering if it would work as a 4K monitor for my MBP. The TV has 3 HDMI ports and yellow, white and red RCA jacks. There is no Display port.

I've never used a TV as a monitor before and I'm a bit confused. I was told by the sales person at Best Buy that I need a 4K HDMI cable because a regular HDMI cable won't display 4K on a 4K TV. I've also heard that using HDMI doesn't yield a good picture when used as a monitor with Apple computers. Is 4K possible at 60Hz when going through an HDMI cable with an Apple laptop?

If I can accomplish this task I will buy the Apple Magic Keyboard, and Magic Mouse, and use this MBP as a desktop machine when needed.

Can someone clear up my confusion? Can I use this 4K Smart TV as a 4K monitor with my MBP? What steps should I take? How do I get from USB Type-C (TB3) on the MBP to HDMI on the TV?

Last edited:

revmacian

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 20, 2018
USA
It will work perfectly fine. Belkin has the adapter and cable for you

https://www.apple.com/shop/product/HKQ22ZM/A/belkin-usb-c-to-hdmi-adapter
Thank you! The product information leads me to believe that this adapter is all I need and will indeed deliver 4K@60Hz. I'm a little skeptical, but I'll try it and see. Thank you for posting that link.

I don't know why, but I was envisioning numerous dongles and cables just to get this done. I guess I've read too many "dongle hell" webpages.

jerryk

macrumors 604
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area