Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacFrag

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 24, 2015
The Netherlands
Hi. I am bit of a AirTag newbie here.

If I name an AirTag “test tag” and put an emoji on it. Do others then see also the name “test tag” with my chosen emoji on it like I see in the find my app?

What information do other people see on there phone from my tag?

Reactions: FelixDerKater

iStorm

macrumors 68000
Sep 18, 2012
No, they can't see the AirTag's name or emoji. They won't even see the AirTag at all unless it's following them and you aren't around...but even then, it's just "an AirTag".

The AirTags do have an NFC chip inside that goes to a web site. If they scan that, they'll see its serial number and last 4 digits of your phone number. If your AirTag is in lost mode, then they'll see the message you entered and your contact information.

Reactions: SB1500

tech8mate

macrumors newbie
May 3, 2023

If I name an AirTag “test tag” and put an emoji on it. Do others then see also the name “test tag” with my chosen emoji on it like I see in the find my app?

When you set up an AirTag, it is associated with your Apple ID, and the AirTag's unique identifier is linked to your account. If someone else finds your AirTag, they can't access your personal information or contact details directly from the AirTag itself. The AirTag does not display any visible information that can be read by others.

However, if you've marked your AirTag as lost using the Find My network, other Apple devices in proximity can detect the AirTag's signal and relay its location back to you anonymously through Apple's Find My app. This allows you to track the location of your AirTag through the network of Apple devices, without revealing your personal information to anyone else.

iStorm

macrumors 68000
Sep 18, 2012