Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrMister111

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
UK
Are you allowed to use Apple and iPad, iPhone, MacBook etc names, and model numbers in an app that you write for iOS?

Also can you use pictures and/or icons as well within the app?

Not sure on the legal jargon if allowed or not?

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
*I am not a lawyer. This is not legal advice. Get a lawyer if you really need legal advice.*

As far as I know, you're always permitted to use their trademarks in referencing them and their products, but never allowed to use their trademarks to brand your own stuff.
As long as the use of the brand names is in reference to what it is trademarked to it should be fine

Reactions: max2

MrMister111

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
UK
*I am not a lawyer. This is not legal advice. Get a lawyer if you really need legal advice.*

As far as I know, you're always permitted to use their trademarks in referencing them and their products, but never allowed to use their trademarks to brand your own stuff.
As long as the use of the brand names is in reference to what it is trademarked to it should be fine

Thanks, I thought that, as looking on App Store seems a lot of references, and I can’t imagine that they’d get through the admission step if it wasn’t allowed. Presume they would be rejected and explained the reason for trademark violation or something.

Nygaard

macrumors member
Dec 7, 2022
Houston
For posterity, when you sign up with Apple, you are required sign the Apple Developer Program License Agreement. That document plus a lawyer should grant you some peace of mind. There's also the Marketing Resources and Identity Guidelines for how to correctly use Apple material when marketing your product.