Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Danib

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 12, 2007
Montreal, Canada
Hi,
I'm new to the Mac world and cannot find how to solve this wireless problem with my G4.

I have a Linksys wireless router, to which 4 PC's are currently hooked up to and this one Mac. My Mac says I am connected to the Linksys/network via Airport Extreme...with a proper IP and subnet mask....however I cannot surf on Safari, Firefox or send/recieve email.
Connecting via ethernet works fine....just cannot connect wirelessly.

Would someone be able to give me a hand in how to solve this problem?

Thanks in advance

cwedl

macrumors 65816
Jun 5, 2003
Or you could type in your primary dns in the list of dns servers this may work, I had the same problem some time ago with my BT router but this sorted the problem out.

Pressure

macrumors 603
May 30, 2006
Denmark
Have you tried resetting your Linksys wireless router?
Is the ethernet cable still attached when trying to connect via wireless?

Danib

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 12, 2007
Montreal, Canada
Hi again and thanks for your replies :)

Mad Jew - I have tried that several times...no go unfortunately
cwedl - I had entered the DNS numbers myself to see if that would resolve the problem...that didn't work either.
Pressure - That I haven't done yet...I'll try that when I get home and see if that will work...I'll post back with the results. (thanks guys :) )

I forgot to mention...Pressure - The ethernet cable is not plugged in at the time. Also...my router does see it, does assign it an IP, it says I am connected....just can't surf and my email says "working Offline"

zephead

macrumors 68000
Apr 27, 2006
in your pants
Is your Mac fully updated :)apple: menu > Software Update)? Apple just released OS 10.4.9 yesterday, and that fixed the wireless problems my mom was having on her iMac.

Danib

macrumors newbie
Original poster