Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Original poster
Jan 6, 2004
Hello everyone, im just starting out in digtial cameras, and these were the two models i was looking at, they are in the same price range and i know are somewhat similar in functions.

which would you choose and why?

SD500: http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/controller?act=ModelDetailAct&fcategoryid=145&modelid=11157
A620: http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/controller?act=ProductCatIndexAct&fcategoryid=113

Side by Side: http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/co...categoryid=113&modelid8=11157&modelid16=12072

(hopefully the links will work)

katie ta achoo

Blogger emeritus
May 2, 2005
In the comparison chart... much the same of everything!
IMO, they are nearly exactly the same, but one weighs half a pound. (w/o crazy-heavy batteries)

Put it in a man-bag!

look! someone answered your thread! and to think you were worrying! :p

I'd get the a620 because I can get some cheap rechargeables and stick them in instead of funky special battery.

Macaddicttt

macrumors 6502a
Apr 22, 2004
San Diego, CA
PlaceofDis said:
...they are in the same price range and i know are somewhat similar in functions.

Actually, the big difference between the two is in their functions. The SD500 is really just a point and shoot kind of camera. The A620, on the other hand, has also sorts of semi-pro features that let amateurs dabble in "pro" photography. On the A-series cameras, you can set it to full auto, or you can manually control settings such as aperture and white balance and shutter speed.

I'm pretty sure that this is the major difference between the two, but other members are much more experienced in photography and can correct me if I'm wrong.

EDIT: Check the differences in the "Shooting Mode" section of comparison chart.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Original poster
Jan 6, 2004
Macaddicttt said: