Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Aires04

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020
I trying to reset my macbook pro and I think I’ve done something wrong. I can no longer instal the Mac OS, when in recovery mode and I try to reinstall a new copy there is no disk to put it on. When in disk utility on the left hand side I see:
121.33 GB APPLE SSD SD0128F media
disk0s2
————
disk1
OS X Base System

i am unsure what to do new and its giving me serious anxiety. this is my first time posting on here so any help will be hugely appreciated.

many thanks

RogerWilco6502

macrumors 68000
Jan 12, 2019
Tír na nÓg
I trying to reset my macbook pro and I think I’ve done something wrong. I can no longer instal the Mac OS, when in recovery mode and I try to reinstall a new copy there is no disk to put it on. When in disk utility on the left hand side I see:
121.33 GB APPLE SSD SD0128F media
disk0s2
————
disk1
OS X Base System

i am unsure what to do new and its giving me serious anxiety. this is my first time posting on here so any help will be hugely appreciated.

many thanks
Can you send a picture of what the DU screen looks like? :)

Aires04

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    336.5 KB · Views: 1,897
Reactions: RogerWilco6502

RogerWilco6502

macrumors 68000
Jan 12, 2019
Tír na nÓg
thank you for your reply
No problem! The issue is that your disk isn't formatted (or at least not in a way that the Mac can read). So with the 121.33 GB APPLE SSD SD0128F media selected, you should go over to the Erase tab and follow the directions there. You can name the disk anything, generally the default filesystem it formats with is good, and then click erase. After that's done, you can install.

Feel free to ask any other questions you may have! :)

Aires04

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020