Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lonewolf_61

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2021
OK, I have a problem reinstalling OS X El Capitan on an old Mac that I just can't fathom. Admittedly I'm new to Macs so, it's possible I could just be doing something wrong, so bear with me. I've booted into recovery and tried the 'reinstall OS X' option, but it keeps asking for an Apple ID and password which I don't have because the Mac was given to me by a friend whom I'm no longer in contact with. There is also no option to obtain one so the install will go no further.

I have gone into the disk utility program as suggested in this forum and tried to erase the internal drive in the hope that it will reinstall from the recovery partition which is visible in the disk utility, but all I get is a fail to erase message saying that it could not unmount the drive. I've tried Shift-Option-Command-R as well, but this too just takes me to the exact same problems. How do I reinstall from the recovery partition?

Can anyone help?

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
When it asks for an AppleID and password, use yours. This is just for connecting to the App Store.

lonewolf_61

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2021
Thanks for the reply, but that's the thing, I don't have one and there is no option to create one. I was just going to try to reinstall from the recovery partition which is visible in the disk utility, but to do that I have to erase the primary hard drive. And that's where it all stalls with an error about being unable to unmount it.

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
I assume the machine boots to the internal hard drive. If so, boot, then go to the App Store and download the appropriate installer for the version you want. It'll install to the Applications folder. Run it from there and select the external SSD as the target volume.

lonewolf_61

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2021