Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mashdup

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2023
Hi there,

I am a solo developer and Capturino is an app that uses iOS 17 UVC feature. I have been building this since the betas and saw another very similar to mine. While both apps can do the same (use the iPad as a screen), mine was geared towards a photography tool.

So using a USB-C video capture card (around $20 or £15), any HDMI device, be it a console or camera, can take advantage of the iPad's screen to display the output with minimal lag (around 50ms depending on the capture card).

Some use cases I have done are using it as a portable screen for my handheld console while camping, external monitor for my camera, screen for my RPi, screen for a headless server I have tucked in my cupboard when I lost SSH access.

What what this app apart are some nice photography features. Such as:
- Gridline overlay
- Real time Histogram (RGBA)
- Real time Preset and Custom LUT color grading

A small, but nice feature is an input volume control. But the app allows sound to be mixed with other apps too. So music and gaming if you wish.

Performance wise, I used Apple's Metal API for Real time LUT color grading, which performs the full 3D filter on the fly. This resulted in low energy use to help battery consumption. In my testing for playing games on it, it performed like if you were to watch a movie, I achieved 6+ hours with about 25% battery to spare.

I invite you to test the App, feel free to send me feedback and any feature requests. See usage in the videos.

Last edited:

Flashtennis

macrumors newbie
Sep 4, 2023
Hi,

I’m guessing that this doesn’t work unless iOS 17 is installed? I’m trying to download iOS 17 now but I guess I’m going to have to wait for the release in a couple of weeks :-/

mashdup

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2023