Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nutter

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 31, 2005
London, England
Anyone have any idea why this code causes a SIGBUS 10 error?

Code:
@inferface NSString (TempFiles)
+(NSString *) temporaryFileName;
@end

@implementation NSString (TempFiles)
+(NSString *) temporaryFileName
{
	NSProcessInfo *proc = [NSProcessInfo processInfo];
	NSString *tempdir = NSTemporaryDirectory();

return [tempdir stringByAppendingPathComponent: [proc globallyUniqueString]];
}
@end

Surely I should be able to add a category to NSString? My Objective-C book instructs me to do so!

rinseout

macrumors regular
Jan 20, 2004
Nutter said:
Anyone have any idea why this code causes a SIGBUS 10 error?
Could it be a memory thing? Does stringByAppendingPathComponent return something in the autorelease pool, in which case you'll want to retain it? I'm just learning Cocoa/ObjC myself, so this is really just a shot in the dark.

Nutter

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 31, 2005
London, England
Well, the string is in the auto-release pool, but I don't need to retain it unless I need to use it outside the scope of the current pool.

Anyway, that shouldn't cause a crash!

Thanks for the suggestion anyway. I'm still at a loss.

rinseout

macrumors regular
Jan 20, 2004
Nutter said:
Well, the string is in the auto-release pool, but I don't need to retain it unless I need to use it outside the scope of the current pool.

Anyway, that shouldn't cause a crash!

Thanks for the suggestion anyway. I'm still at a loss.
OK. I admit I don't fully understand the autorelease rules; I thought that it might be autoreleased when you go out of scope at the end of the temporaryFileName method, so that the pointer isn't valid when you try to use it (which would cause a crash). What line is it crashing on?

Nutter

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 31, 2005
London, England