Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RaphaZ

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 2, 2021
Hello!

I have a 5th generation iPad, which I use mainly for media and, most important, work.
I’m a PhD student, and I need to scan a lot of historical documents (when I run out of light, I pick up my iphone 11). My iPad is great, but it can't manage my workflow nowadays (hundreds of pages in ScannerPro, Gmail, some Safari, etc).
I have already decided to purchase a brand new iPad (10,2", 2021): I have still more 2 years to go, and I need a better equipment. So, I did ordered an iPad, yesterday, from Amazon, the wi-fi model with 256 GB. It will only arrive here, Portugal, in two weeks, which is very good according to the estimated delivery dates of the basic iPad. I have also ordered accessories, like the pencil and a case, and they have just arrived - accessories and no tablet!

I have two questions. This iPad will cost me around 550 euros. I saw iPad Pro 11" (2020) selling from 650 euros in the UK's refurbished store. Would you maintain the choice on the regular iPad or would you pay extra 100 euros to buy the pro? More than 500 euros is more than I was about to pay, but I don't like the estimated delivery date of the 64GB model extended till late January'22! This 64GB model would fit me well, I guess, as I payed already for some extra iCloud storage, but I can't wait much longer.

The last question is if you consider A13 chip (and A12X chip) really good and future-proof to handle my workflow? I guess that anything beyond this A9 iPad would be a beast...

Thank you in advance!
Rafael

EDIT: the purpose behind the Apple Pencil is to edit the scanned documents and to take notes on them. I think that will be a major improvement!

Last edited:
Reactions: BillyiPad95

rui no onna

Contributor
Oct 25, 2013
Hello!

I have a 5th generation iPad, which I use mainly for media and, most important, work.