Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macfanrutler

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 13, 2010
NJ
I just wanted to see if anyone had used any of the Codecademy Pro courses. I have taken some of their basic ones and have a pretty decent understanding of CSS, HTML, ASP Classic. But I need to work on my JavaScript and ReactJS skills. I see they have a pro course coming up but wanted to get an honest review.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

rafark

macrumors 68000
Sep 1, 2017
I've a lot of experience in this topic. My personal preference are always books over video courses as the later can never get into the details of a good book. Video courses are great for getting the big picture but if you truly want to understand a language go pick a good book.

I believe O reilly has a best seller on JavaScript that teaches you everything. If I'm not mistaken it's called "JavaScript the definitive guide".

olup

Cancelled
Oct 11, 2011
I just wanted to see if anyone had used any of the Codecademy Pro courses. I have taken some of their basic ones and have a pretty decent understanding of CSS, HTML, ASP Classic. But I need to work on my JavaScript and ReactJS skills. I see they have a pro course coming up but wanted to get an honest review.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
What youtube channels have you checked out on those topics?
I can recommend leveluptuts and net ninja on js/react.
Also rithmschool has lots of material on js, some on react as well, see link below.

https://www.rithmschool.com/courses

macfanrutler

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 13, 2010
NJ
I've a lot of experience in this topic. My personal preference are always books over video courses as the later can never get into the details of a good book. Video courses are great for getting the big picture but if you truly want to understand a language go pick a good book.