Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ank92

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 1, 2022
Hello,

I have rooted all my Android phones without problems so far, but I am new to iOS and need some guidance.
So the phone is iPhone SE first gen and it's currently running IOS 15.2
I wish to jailbreak it, mainly because of 2 reasons: be able to run a call recorder app - https://limneos.net/audiorecorderxs/
and 2nd reason - be able to customize user interface.

From what I've researched so far, it appears that there's no jailbreak option for IOS 15.2, so I would need to downgrade to IOS 14.
And access to a macOS computer is required (I have a Mac running macOS 10.15)
Can anyone point me in the right direction for doing this properly?

AZhappyjack

macrumors G3
Jul 3, 2011
Happy Jack, AZ
Hello,

I have rooted all my Android phones without problems so far, but I am new to iOS and need some guidance.
So the phone is iPhone SE first gen and it's currently running IOS 15.2
I wish to jailbreak it, mainly because of 2 reasons: be able to run a call recorder app - https://limneos.net/audiorecorderxs/
and 2nd reason - be able to customize user interface.

From what I've researched so far, it appears that there's no jailbreak option for IOS 15.2, so I would need to downgrade to IOS 14.
And access to a macOS computer is required (I have a Mac running macOS 10.15)
Can anyone point me in the right direction for doing this properly?

You are correct ... there is no jailbreak for iOS 15.2 ... but the real issue for you is that you cannot go back to iOS 14.x, as Apple no longer signs anything older than iOS 15.2 ... so you can't get there from here.

ank92

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 1, 2022
Bummer. Do you think a jailbreak for 15.2 and iPhone SE 2016 will appear eventually?

imart143

macrumors newbie
Oct 1, 2016
zagreb