Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

The Flashing Fi

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 23, 2007
Hey guys. I'm sure some of you have seen me in here answering general laptop questions that's pretty generic across all laptops.

Well, I'm replacing my Acer laptop, which is a POS. I don't feel like going into detail, but lets just say it's made me paranoid about buying another one. Last time I "cheaped" out on a laptop. It was 1500 dollars when I bought it, but when compared to other laptops with the same specs at the time, it was a bargain.

So, this time around, I want to buy a good, reliable laptop that will last me 3-4 years through school. The laptop is not a "luxury," as I really do need it for a few of my classes, as I'm majoring in engineering, which also means I need a powerful laptop (no integrated graphics).

So, the MacBook Pro caught my eye. Mac OS X as of now, has Unix capabilities, which is a big plus for engineering, and with Leopard, it will be Unix compliant, an even greater plus. Oh, and I can run Windows Apps, which fits is the most important thing.

Well, after lurking around here for a few days, I have noticed people with various problems in their laptop.

I've read things from the famous bottom of the screen yellowing issue, airport problems, warped screens, ect. When I get my MacBook Pro, I don't want any of these problems.

I figure this time, if I drop a little extra dough, I won't have to replace it after a year of use.

Please, tell me I have nothing to worry about and that these incidents are pretty isolated. I plan on ordering the laptop either the day that Leopard is released or at the very end of the month. I can't wait any longer, as my current laptop is worrying me (I have already sent it in twice).

TheStu

macrumors 65816
Aug 20, 2006
Carlisle, PA