Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ZeroKoolNess1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 25, 2002
Hello eveyone
I need some help here, if you would please.

I have a Ti 667 powerbook, and i want to connect it via a cross-over cable to my gateway desktop.

I believe i need a cross-over ethernet cable (is that true?) i'm new to this entire mac thing, but so far so good.

What i need is a list of materials i will need to connect them and what i need to do on both computers. On the gateway computer i am running windows ME and the newest update to OS X on my mac.

Please help me.

Thanks to all those who post in reply to this
ZeroKoolNess1

maclamb

macrumors 6502
Jan 28, 2002
Northern California
you are correct - you neede a cross over ethernet cable
Once connected, if you set a drive opn the win machine to be shared, then the mac/osx can see the drive by going to the finder GO menu and select Connect to Server.
then enter:
smb://sharedmachinename/shareddrivename

I believe if yu want windows to see the mac then you must run win2K and add the Apple talk protocol.

IndyGopher

macrumors 6502a
Nov 3, 2001
Indianapolis, IN
Are you sure you need a crossover cable? I thought one of the 'big deals' about the PB G4 was that you could use any ethernet cable.. I know I can use either sort of cable (cross over or straight) between my PB and my G4 towers.. and I don't think it's the towers that have the nifty bit... I will try later with one of my PC's, but I am pretty sure any ethernet cable will work with the PB's

Classic

macrumors regular
Jul 9, 2001
You don't need a crossover

There's a guy who writes for the San Francisco Chronicle, Henry Knorr. There is a Mac Q&A that he posts the first Thursday of every month. Ususally it's really basic stuff, but occasionally there is a bit more information. Coincidentally, last Thursday he mentioned just this case. Here's a quote: