Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CRX

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 12, 2019
Ottawa
Hi all,

first-time poster but longtime forum lurker. Nice to meet you.
I purchased a 2012 iMac, a 27-inch model with a 3 TB Fusion drive and maxed-out processor (I believe i7 3.4 GHz?), shortly after it launched. It's served us faithfully over these 7 years as our main computer but that drive is starting to show its age/wear and the display now suffers from some rather intense image retention.

Anyhoo, I figure it's time to change things up. I'm considering making the switch to the new Mac Mini, the 3.0 GHz 6-core model with 1-2 TB of storage. I work as a full-time writer now and want to set up a separate monitor (LG's 49-inch ultrawide model is very tempting), so this fits the bill. Plus, a good opportunity to declutter the desk and create a much more minimalist setup.

Main uses:

- Writing long-form content
- Research and analysis with multiple tabs open
- Spreadsheets, filling in PDF forms, etc.
- Backing up our DVDs with MacXDVDRipper/Converter Pro (personal use only, obviously)
- Basic tasks (social media, YouTube, etc.)

Would you recommend it for our use case? I've seen that it can apparently run quite hot so just a little concerned about long-term performance and durability. Thanks in advance for your help.

Last edited:

iluvmacs99

macrumors 6502a
Apr 9, 2019
Nice to meet you too! :)