Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blckout20

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 2, 2006
CT
So now that I'm waiting for my new MBP to arrive I'm trying to think of all the things that I want to do with it and I'm considering making some videos. Nothing super great but I just want to go out with our friends and just record some of the things we do together and make a dvd out of it. Now what camcorder would you recommend for doing this, I want to have pretty good quality and not spend over like $500. Also, what software should I use to edit these videos and put music to them, I've never done anything like this before so any tips would be great. no

Danksi

macrumors 68000
Oct 3, 2005
Nelson, BC. Canada
blckout20 said:
So now that I'm waiting for my new MBP to arrive I'm trying to think of all the things that I want to do with it and I'm considering making some videos. Nothing super great but I just want to go out with our friends and just record some of the things we do together and make a dvd out of it. Now what camcorder would you recommend for doing this, I want to have pretty good quality and not spend over like $500. Also, what software should I use to edit these videos and put music to them, I've never done anything like this before so any tips would be great. no

Since you are just starting out, I suggest you use iMovie for editing, which comes as part of iLife with all new Macs.

hvfsl

macrumors 68000
Jul 9, 2001
London, UK
Ideally you want to look for one with 3CCDs. As for brands, Sony is probably the best with Panasonic also making some good camcorders. Just make sure you get a DV one and not a DVD one because the DVD ones are more expensive, won't work properly with your Mac and have worse image quality.

Espnetboy3

macrumors 6502
Feb 1, 2003