Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mem

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 1, 2004
Hi all:

I am interested in converting an old tape, which is not available on CD, to MP3s so that I can keep them on my computer and incorporate them into mixes.

I have no experience with A/V and have no A/V equipment, with the exception of an external Mic that I can use. The best think I could think of to do was hooking the mic up to my Powerbook and play the tape on a tape player. I have no idea how to cut the tracks, etc.

Can you provide me with some advice on how to do this, or even a nice, free & easy app that may be floating around out there somewhere?

Thanks!

scottlinux

macrumors 6502a
Sep 21, 2005
You mean 1/4" tape? Do you have a tape machine to play this back? Or a cassette tape?

The best thing is to get an audio interface (USB or Firewire) that would let you connect the outputs of the tape machine INTO your computer, via this audio interface.

Or use your computer's line IN jack, if it has one.

Audacity is free audio program which would let you record and edit.

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Use the 1.3.2beta.

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
The best thing is to get an audio interface (USB or Firewire) that would let you connect the outputs of the tape machine INTO your computer, via this audio interface.
it's likely, especially if you're connecting the RCA outs of a cassette deck into such an interface, that you're going to have to boost the signal about 18 dB to get good levels in the software.

so find an interface with 2 Hi-Z inputs which will allow you to do that. i've gotten very good results this way.

for example

Letters

macrumors newbie
Mar 17, 2005