Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PowerPcboi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2020
Hello!
I am really new to PowerPC ibooks, and I recently got my hands on a ibook G3 500mhz model. To say the least it is a amazing ancient computer(coming up on 20 years old!). I have had one issue with it though. The fan never turns on. I was reading about how the ibook G3 model were in the middle of apples fan controller switch, so I was wondering if that may correlate with the fan acting weird. I tried out a application called GuagePro to see the CPU temperature. It said 30 degrees Celsius on a benchmark, which cant be right.

If anyone can help let me know, also feel free to give me any other advise on PowerPcs I am a newbie.

AphoticD

macrumors 68020
Feb 17, 2017
The iBook G3 500 runs cool. I don't think I've heard the fan come on at all.

I've just fired up my Late 2001 iBook G3 500MHz (w/ 384MB RAM) to take a look. I had it running OS X Tiger for half an hour doing all kind of things, including some (limited) web browsing with Camino and then rebooted into OS 9 to run Gauge Pro. On idle, GP reports the PowerPC 750CX running at 18°C, so I ran the repeating memory tests for a few minutes and witnessed CPU temps get up to 26°C without any fans running. Stopping the tests brought that reading back down to 18°C within half a minute.

HDD S.M.A.R.T sensor reported 42°C in OS X under Temperature Monitor before the reboot, which is probably more accurate. However, for the most part, this is a very cool running Mac - cooler than my Pismo 500, but the Pismo also has a 1MB L2 cache, whereas the iBook only has 256K.