Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

abbstrack

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 21, 2008
SoCal
Finally dropped and cracked the front glass of my iPhone X, 6 months after having the same thing happen to the back glass. I already purchased and returned the iPhone 11 Pro once when I broke the back screen only to return it b/c it didn't feel like a significant enough upgrade and I figured I'd limp through to September, but now i've got shards of glass coming out of the front screen that I can't feasibly use for too much longer.

Wanted to get a 2nd (or 3rd, or whatever) opinion on my options:

1. take it to apple, pay $549 for the "other damage" repair..my question with this option is will they just swap it or repair?
  2. 3rd party screen repair - There's a 3rd party screen repair nearby that quoted me $249 for front and back repair. I've never done any 3rd part repairs before and am a bit leery about non-original parts and their potential effect on performance, so any guidance/insights here from anyone who haswould be appreciated.
  3. suck it up, buy an unlocked iphone 11pro (face ID is a feature I can't live without anymore), and trade it in and hope to get upwards of $600 (is this a realistic expectation considering the iPhone XS Max only gets $500 right now) from Apple when the iPhone 12 is released. If $600 is realistic, to me this and option 1 are about the same, with this option being more about having a newer phone vs. paying nearly $600 for a 2 year old device.

Any other options I'm not considering? End goal remains being able to easily upgrad to the 12 when it comes out, so just looking for the best temporary option that's cost effective but doesn't completely change my user experiencei with my phone for the next 4 months.

BugeyeSTI

macrumors 604
Aug 19, 2017
Arizona/Illinois