Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

amka

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2022
hi
I'm new to ios..
i bought mini 1yr ago..
i can't find answer for this anywhere :::

i just wanna create folder on desktop, download everything to it..

why is that so hard?

thx

techno-Zen

macrumors 68000
Apr 27, 2015
Gilbert, AZ
You've had an ipad one year and you're still not getting the fact that it's not a traditional desktop computer? No offense.. but you may want to watch some MacOS versus iPad OS comparison videos on youtube.

What do you mean downloads? from Safari? By default files save to "On my iPad" / Downloads

Add the files app to your home screen (Desktop on iOS) or OR Add a Files Widget that has your "Recents" which would likely include your recently downloaded files onto your home screen.

amka

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2022
thx so much for the ios shaming..
what difference does it make what browser i use..
i want to change default directories..
this is basic stuff and should not be mysterious
I'm wondering why i paid so much for this if i have no control or
need to jump thru sooo many opaque hoops

thx

Reactions: jackoverfull

sparksd

macrumors G3
Jun 7, 2015
Seattle WA

thx

That's just the way iPadOS operates - many of the file management operations you may be familiar with from other operating systems aren't available in iPadOS because of its sandboxed approach.

• Haha
Reactions: KeithBN and jdb8167

amka

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2022
tyvm

as it is, it's really not usable..
i should look for a jail break solution or such..

idk..

thx again

Slartibart

macrumors 68030
Aug 19, 2020
As others already pointed out, you can assign any folder for downloads.