Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hotwire132002

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 24, 2004
Cadillac, MI
Hey,

I'm working on a newsroom automation script in PHP. I've got just about everything down, except for one thing. I'm trying to create a page that will create a new table--you know, you enter the name for the table in a textbox, then the script runs a MySQL query to create the table.

This is probably a stupid question, but I can't get this to work. I want to plug in a script that basically runs the following query:

CREATE TABLE '$table' (id int(6) NOT NULL ... etc etc

I think the problem with the above line of code is the fact that MySQL recognizes the apostrophes to be the end of the query--but if I try to run the query without them, it names the table $table. Does anyone have a solution to this?

As you can probably tell, I'm still learning PHP.

hotwire132002

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 24, 2004
Cadillac, MI
Nermal said:
I'm still new to PHP, but try:

CREATE TABLE ' . $table . ' (id int....

No luck. Any other ideas?

EDIT: I made it work! Slight glitch in your code, Nermal--using " instead of ' worked for some reason. The . $table . code did the trick, though! Thanks!

Rower_CPU

Moderator emeritus
Oct 5, 2001
San Diego, CA
Yeah, for some functions there is a difference between single and double quotes. Always check the documentation when in doubt. :)

MontyZ

macrumors 6502a
Jan 7, 2005
The reason the single quotes didn't work is because PHP will only recognize a variable within a text string that is delimited with double-quotes. If you put the variable in single quotes, PHP intreprets it literally.

$var = 'Apple';

echo 'Eat this $var' // will be interpreted as Eat this $var

echo "Eat this $var" // will be interpreted as Eat this Apple

pulsewidth947

macrumors 65816
Jan 25, 2005