Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Yebubbleman

macrumors 603
Original poster
May 20, 2010
Los Angeles, CA
[First off, to the mods: if this post belongs somewhere else, (a) my apologies and (b) please feel free to move it there (as I otherwise would've if I had known).]

I have a 32GB WiFi only iPad mini 2 (the one listed in my signature). Its sole purpose to me is to run beta versions of iOS or to run jailbroken versions of iOS.

I've found that, with the notable exception of iOS 9.3, most of the iOS point releases (e.g. iOS 9.0.2, iOS 9.1, iOS 9.2, iOS 9.2.1, etc.) that come out during the fall through spring are more or less uneventful, especially given that I'm a hobbyist and not a developer. So, I've given thought to making it so that, during the year, I'm running this iPad mini 2 jailbroken and then between WWDC and the fall, I'll restore it to a non-jailbroken version of iOS before updating to a beta or I'll just DFU restore straight to a beta version until it comes out and then I'll repeat the cycle over again.

Given this, with the public release of iOS 9.3 on said iPad mini 2 (which I guess I must've just done at the right time), I'm finding that the oldest successful publicly released Jailbreaks for iOS 9 are for 9.1 at the newest. There doesn't seem to be anything for 9.2.1, which is unfortunate given that I have the perfect opportunity to downgrade back to it (seeing as the mini 2 is among the devices that Apple pulled the 9.3 update for), if I so desired.

Is jailbreaking a lost cause now? Given that I'm on 9.3, should I downgrade to 9.2.1 just in case? Are my sources out of date and is there a jailbreak for either 9.2.1 or 9.3? Any information would be handy to have as my research is coming up dry.

electronicsguy

macrumors 6502a
Oct 12, 2015
Pune, India