Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cr2sh

macrumors 68030
Original poster
May 28, 2002
downtown
Cord Camera just opened a new location here in Dayton and they're running an ad:

Nikon D50 body
Tamron 28-300mm f3.5-6.3 XR lens
Epson PictureMate Express
$699.99 AR

Plus you get a gift card for 10% of your total purchase... which would amount to $84.99. Plus some other stuff.

I think I'm going to hop on it, but I wanted to bounce it off the more knowledgeable folk around here... get opinions on the deal, the lens and such - since I am new to the SLR arena.

So let's hear it.... anyone?

:p

By the way, the * means, "Offer expires December 3rd. Offer valid only on in-store purcahses."

Attachments

• d50_deal.jpg
    d50_deal.jpg
    158.9 KB · Views: 193

gwuMACaddict

macrumors 68040
Apr 21, 2003
washington dc
haven't shot with one yet, but after reading numerous reviews online- seems like one heck of a camera... though you might want to find a kit with a nikon lens? will you actually use the printer?

sometimes those bundles have items you just don't need... something to think about

but yes- excellent camera- small though- might want to go see one in person if possible first- it's def way smaller than a D70

cr2sh

macrumors 68030
Original poster
May 28, 2002
downtown
I've looked at the dpreview of the d50, in comparison to the 350d and d70. The entry price point of the d50 (at this range) is much more comfortable than either of those two cameras. I'd prefer a higher megapixel count... but 6 should cut it. :p

I will use the printer, if not so much for this camera, for the P&S canon I just bought for household use. We take a lot of photos everyday around the house, pictures of me, pictures of her, pictures of water-heaters... it'd be nice to print and hang them on the fridge. So yes, I'll definately use the printer.