Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kerver

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2011
Hi all!

I'm a newbie to the forum and to mac stuff.....not sure if this is the right place to post this....

Anyways...I have a 2g 16gb ipod touch....It worked fine. I always ran the battery dead before I would recharge it. Well I ran it dead the other day and now haven't been able to charge it. It does nothing. The computer doesn't recognize it or itunes or anything. There's no sign of life what so ever. I've tried plugging it into the computer and to a docking station. Its dead, dead, dead!! It looks kinda like the power button is stuck in too.....Is this a battery issue or if the button is stuck would that be causing the problem or is it just fried? i'm tried putting it into recovery mode or whatever its called where you press the home and power button...I got nothing......but if the power button is stuck that could be why....dunno. Do you???

Thanks for any and all help or info!!!

shakeman0

macrumors 6502a
Jul 20, 2009
When you tried to put it in recovery, did you hold the sleep button for 3 seconds, then without releasing the sleep button simultaneously hold the home button for 10 seconds, then release the sleep button and continue holding the home button for 15 seconds?

kerver

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2011
yes and i just tried it again....seems like the sleep button is not working right or something....

any other suggestions?

kerver

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2011
I've tried 2 cables and the ipod dock. I have an 2g 8gb ipod touch too and the cords and everything works with it.....havn't tried any other computers though.

shakeman0

macrumors 6502a
Jul 20, 2009
Hmmm... I may be out of ideas mate... It's starting to sound like a repair of some kind may be in order.

kerver

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2011