Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

albebaubles

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 9, 2010
Sierra in view
I'm starting a new FTE job next week and today my computer arrived. Since I'm a native iOS/macOS dev, I need a Mac to do my job, but they messed up and sent a loaded Dell XPS. In fairness, I'm full stack so not surprised they sent a Windows machine. It's been at least a decade since I have touched a Dell and I have to say, I'm very very impressed after 2 hours of playing around. Very solid construction, fast as hell.

I need to keep a better eye on the windows hardware front.

Reactions: chengengaun

pshufd

macrumors G3
Oct 24, 2013
New Hampshire
I'm writing this on a 2008 Dell Studio XPS. I love the XPS line. Did I mention that they last a long time? I'm learning a lot of Windows development stuff. Everything is building blocks today. You don't write a huge crapload of code, you take pieces from libraries - it is so much easier.

pshufd

macrumors G3
Oct 24, 2013
New Hampshire
Tons of issues with dell 2020 15 / 17" units, discourage this.

Hopefully they can fix the problems.

I'm a fan of the Studio XPS (desktop) models. Though I don't like the smaller 2020 systems.

I have a 2008 Dell XPS M1330 which I haven't used in a few years. It had a defective keyboard. The space bar only had two supports and produced different results depending on where you hit it. I brought it back to Best Buy and got it back two weeks later (they had to ship it out). The new keyboard had three supports under the space bar. So they screwed up. But they fixed it too.

It may be harder to fix these today as I think that most laptops are less repairable than they used to be when they were bigger and more modular. Dell has always taken care of me on product issues and I am typing this on a Dell Studio XPS.

Last edited:

vladster

macrumors member
Jul 25, 2011