Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rendezvouscp

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
Long Beach, California
Hello. I just finished a design this morning that I'd love to have critiqued. To begin with, I am not a designer, I'm much better at coding than designing. However, I felt like I needed to create something for my own website, something that I could say that I did. Now I've got that, but I'd like some suggestions to see if I can't improve what I already have.

The design is supposed to be very simple and very self explanatory. My focus was on having clean, semantic, and valid xhtml. I haven't applied any hacks in the code, but it seems to display well in most browsers except for the two bugs I have listed on the page.

Here's the link. If anyone wouldn't mind giving suggestions, they'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
-Chase

rendezvouscp

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
Long Beach, California
Thanks for the critique MontyZ.

I'm planning to use this design for my blog, my website (media stuff and more writing), and for a future wiki. I might decide to use a different design for the wiki, but I'd like to keep it uniform if possible.

I haven't quite figured out how to pull in the blue into the design, but I definitely know what you mean. I'll have to keep playing with the colors to see what I can come up with.

I guess the gradient wasn't pronounced. :D There's actually a gradient behind the header and navigation, as well as the footer (but it's very subtle).

I made the secondary navigation a bit smaller, so hopefully it's clearer that it's secondary, and not part of the main.

I've also added more whitespace, but I'm unsure if it's in the right places. It really bugs me that the space between the text is bigger than the space between the sidebar islands, but I think it looks best like that. Perhaps someone will agree or disagree with that.