Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mdavis501

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 4, 2019
Mac user for about 8 years. Beautiful system that seems to work so well.
I upgraded from an iMac as soon as the Mac Studio was announced. System arrived yesterday. Upon connection it self downloaded the latest OS.

Let me preface by saying, as an electrical engineer, I have had experience troubleshooting complex electrical systems and like to consider myself fairly comfortable with computer systems. Until my experience(s) with the new Studio Mac. Kinda humbling.

Used the system migrate. Worked flawlessly. I turned off the iMac (older system) and began the checking of the newer Mac studio.

Before the show stopping no internet issue described below occurred, what I first noticed is that my second monitor seemed backwards. I made certain which monitor that I set as the default, but my mouse wold not move to the RIGHT to the second monitor. It ONLY moved to the left to flow to the second monitor which was on the right. Naturally, this was ultra confusing. While I was troubleshooting what I considered an easily fixable nit issue, my system said - you are not connected to the internet.

Went to system preferences and it said both the wifi AND the ethernet connection to the internet had self assigned IP addresses and would not be able to connect to the internet - and sure enough it did not connect to the internet.

Self assigned IP addresses? Seems quite a few people have run into this problem, but I could get none of their solutions to solve my problem.