Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shecky

Original poster
May 24, 2003
Obviously you're not a golfer.
i have a 60GB HD on my 1Ghz TiBook running 10.3.5 which is starting to get more filled up than i am happy with - however since i occasionally need to reference all the work i have on the machine (i am a design student) i really am not comfortable actually removing anything major to a backup DVD, so i was planning on making compressed disk images using Disk Utility of all the past semester's work by semester so that way i have it on the machine, but it looks to take up something like half the space. Before i do this i had a few questions that i'd like people's opinions on:

1- is there any disadvantage to a compressed disk image over a folder. is the likelihood for file corruption, etc.. the same/better/worse with a disk image as opposed to a regular folder? I understand a disk image has to mount so it may take a little more time to access the files but beyond that is there something i should be worrying about?

2- is Disk Utility the best way to make compressed disk images from folders? anything else i should use? I do have Toast 5.x and as i recall ya can do it from there but is there any reason why i should?

3- will making compressed disk images NOT allow me to see any data? will it kill any files? etc.. (i assume not but its worth asking)

4- is there something better than a compressed disk image i should be looking at instead? these are going to be read-only type archives, just on there on case i need to show something or whatnot - the files in the disk image will in all likelihood not be altered.

thanks in advance!

madog

macrumors 65816
Nov 25, 2004
Korova Milkbar
shecky said: