Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

syntax_one

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2017
Hi,

I received my brand new M2 MacBook Pro 2023 with 16-inch Liquid Retina XDR and my Studio Display a month ago.

The whites on both displays are completely off: more red on the Studio Display, and more yellow on the MBP.

True Tone doesn't fix the issue.

Changing the reference modes doesn't fix the issue.

Display Calibrator Assistant doesn't fix the issue.

What is going on?

I chatted with Apple. They have no clue.

I called Apple. They have no clue.

I chatted with experts on Apple Discussions. They have no clue.

I'm a graphic design teacher and a calligrapher. I really need this issue to be fixed; I've been living a 6000$ CAD nightmare for a month now. I've never seen this since I started using Apple products in 1997.

What is there to do? Do I have a lemon?

Thank you!

Christian.

PS For some reason, my iPhone's pictures are showing the Studio Display being the warmer monitor. In reality, it's the opposite.

IMG_8887.jpeg
IMG_8888.jpeg
IMG_8889.jpeg
IMG_8894.jpeg

Last edited:

goodthymes

macrumors member
Oct 11, 2022
Had a similar problem with my first ASD, had a mild redish/purple tint. No amount of tweaking or calibration could alleviate it, returned it after 10 days of trying to get used to it and ordered another one, second ASD's white is truly white almost perfect and have been pretty happy with it. If you are within the return window I'd suggest exchanging for another one.

Reactions: syntax_one

syntax_one

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2017