Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Frank_Cotton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2022
I'm a pro video editor and sometime colorist, switching from in-office to remote work and I'm upgrading my desktop setup.

I had a 2014 Mac Pro (garbage can) with three Dell U2414H (1920x1080, 24"). I'll be getting a Mac Studio (M1 Ultra) in a few weeks and I'm struggling with resolution, dpi, overall size and the number of displays.

There are obvious issues with the U2414H x 3. Still, I like the total real estate and the dimensions of the displays. I'm also partial to the unobtrusive bezels.
I wouldn't mind increasing the diagonal to go along with a bump in resolution, but I'm seated less than 1m from the screens. Three 27" displays seems too much, two too little. Horizontal space is valuable to me, but I haven't been a fan of ultra-wides in the past. Add to that the issue of non-integer scaling and I'm up to my neck in uncertainty.

I don't care about cameras, speakers, "smart" features, or small delays in waking from sleep. I'd greatly appreciate recommendations or advice for someone in my situation. Thanks.

BlueTide

macrumors regular
Feb 6, 2007
Silicon Valley, CA
Have you considered splitting your displays to a UI monitor(s) and a TV? While this is not directly answering your question about what monitor to pic, that gives more options - the UI monitor can be almost whatever for as long as you have a decent TV behind something like BlackMagic Ultrastudio video interface. Or better yet, a reference display like Flanders.

Frank_Cotton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2022