Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

transmaster

Contributor
Original poster
Feb 1, 2010
Cheyenne, Wyoming
I am new to macOS and I have a question. Are any of you doing distributed computing. For more than a decade I did distributed computing on my PC's. This is where your computer is used in a distributed network to discover various things. The idea was by combining thousands of computers idle time you had the computing power of all but most massive supercomputers. Seti@home was an example you crunched data sets mostly from the now gone Arecibo radio telescope. I see that at least one of my former projects Einstein@Home which is looking for radio and gamma-ray pulsars has Mac support. Are any of you doing this? Doing this never had any impact on my regular use of my PC's because it only starts after you stop using your machine. Plus you always have complete control over bandwidth and when it starts. Like on a laptop setting it so it only activates when the laptop is idle and plugged in. Your computer downloads a data set crunches the numbers and reports its results, than with your complete control downloads another data set, your computer is only online long enough to download the data set. As for security in all of the years I ran these projects there were never any hacks, or malicious intrusions. The worst that ever happened was during the beginning of COVID a couple of universities where using it to fold proteins looking for potential vaccine vectors. They had to suspend them because the Chinese were stealing everything.

Last edited:
Reactions: barracuda156

barracuda156

macrumors 68000
Sep 3, 2021