Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hajime

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
Hi, I guess I can live without a Mac. One annoying thing about Windows laptops is that for no reason, even I leave them alone, the fans kick in sometimes. Another thing is backlight bleed of the screen. Am I correct that the current Windows laptops still make fan noise when left alone or running basic office productivity applications? Is the backlight bleed issue just by luck?

hajime

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Aug 10, 2006
UK
Am I correct that if I get an ARM based Windows laptop, I will run Arm version of Windows which may have compatibility issues with some Windows software just like running Windows using Parallels on M1 Mac?

I am no expert on this but ARM Windows includes an X86 emulator whether it runs on a ARM Windows machine or in Parallels on an M1 Mac. The X86 emulater seems very well thought of AFAICS, like Rosetta which does similar job between Intel and ARM on Silicon Macs.

I use ARM windows because it is the only way to run Windows on Silicon, but I am not clear at all why a Windows machine user would choose ARM over X86.

Last edited:

hajime

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
I am no expert on this but ARM Windows includes an X86 emulator whether it runs on a ARM Windows machine or in Parallels on an M1 Mac. The X86 emulater seems very well thought of AFAICS, like Rosetta which does similar job between Intel and ARM on Silicon Macs.

I use ARM windows because it is the only way to run Windows on Silicon, but I am not clear at all why a Windows machine user would choose ARM over X86.

Quietness is the only reason I consider ARM over X86.

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Aug 10, 2006
UK
Quietness is the only reason I consider ARM over X86.
There are fanless X86 Windows machines, as in the second link I posted.