Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

michelle21

macrumors regular
Jun 29, 2007
Seems to me, Apple's move to not allow traditional Mac development on the iPhone was a slap in the face to Mac developers. More on my blog - Steve Jobs give the iPhinger to Mac Developers. Thoughts?

I'm a mac developer, I guess I felt betrayed at first.. But the iphone gives you a whole new way of thinking about development.
Its a completely different paradyme. Microsoft has been trying to push something like this for a long time, but in there usual proprietary way that makes it clumsy.

Web 2.0, is based on open standards, and sure unless apple comes up with some way of caching the apps internally, or maybe with provides an internal applications server on the phone.

All applications have to be connected either on a local server or the web.

I can see whole hosting sites going up just to host iphone applications, the web applications interact with the phone features. ...

This may actually be the real start of web 2.0, and for that I'm excited.

Been learning Ajax and json for the last couple weeks.

madfuku

macrumors newbie
Jul 19, 2007
Fukuoka, Japan
I work for a software company in Japan (we do boring development, enterprise).

Anyway, I am not a fan of the web apps, they do certainly have a place but being able to have a real app is certainly priceless and Apple knows it.

My take on it is that we will see iPhone apps, but they will come off of iTunes purchases like ipod games and will only be put out there either by Apple or companies willing to pay the premium to use Apples inevitable distribution model and prime real-estate. Perhaps, we will see a very very narrow list of these real apps, probably from the largest of companies meeting Apples development guidelines but I have no doubt they will appear.