Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

madonnaragu

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 13, 2021
Hi all!

I am new to Macs. Why is the "Do not disturb" icon shown in the top bar for a while after waking up? It then goes away. Is this normal?

jdb8167

macrumors 601
Nov 17, 2008
Hi all!

I am new to Macs. Why is the "Do not disturb" icon shown in the top bar for a while after waking up? It then goes away. Is this normal?
Are you sure it isn't the location indicator? The do not disturb is a moon crescent and the location indicator is a arrow pointing upward towards the right.

location Screen Shot 2021-05-07 at 3.33.43 PM.png
do not disturb Screen Shot 2021-05-07 at 3.34.09 PM.png

Not exact since I screen capped them from locations other than the menu bar but close enough.

Edit: from the menu bar:
Screen Shot 2021-05-07 at 3.36.02 PM.png

Reactions: madonnaragu

madonnaragu

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 13, 2021

KShopper

macrumors member
Nov 26, 2020
I recall seeing that once also on my M1 MBA. Hasn't happened since, as far as I've noticed.
Does it go away on its own after awhile, or do you have to disable DoNotDisturb mode manually to get it to go away?

mj_

macrumors 68000
May 18, 2017
Austin, TX
I've noticed this too recently. No idea what triggered it because it definitely didn't show when I first got my M1 Air. May have been Apple's recent Big Sur 11.3 update ?‍♂️

madonnaragu

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 13, 2021
It's a normal part of notifications. You have the option to turn Do Not Disturb on while the display is sleeping (I do). When the display wakes up, you see the icon for just a second or two before it goes away–all normal.

View attachment 1772804