Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wfriedwald

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 1, 2017
I have been using a Dell Universal Dock UD22 for about six months now, and it mostly works okay, but...

sometimes, once every day or two, there's what appears to be a short, wherein all my external drives flicker on and off. They come back and there's no harm done (not so far) but you see why this is NOT optimal!

And now one of the two additional external monitors is not connecting properly - so that's also a problem.

Not sure if I should figure this out or invest in a new, more powerful dock?

I'm running a 2020 (?) M1 MacBook Air, which mostly works great, though I am tempted to get one of the M3s when they are available.

thanks as always for any feedback!

w

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
sometimes, once every day or two, there's what appears to be a short, wherein all my external drives flicker on and off.
Is the dock plugged into a surge protected outlet? If not, recommend you get a UPS battery backup unit.
And now one of the two additional external monitors is not connecting properly - so that's also a problem.
Even w/ the dock, how are you supporting more than one external monitor w/ 2020 M1 MBA? DisplayLink?

wfriedwald

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 1, 2017
Is the dock plugged into a surge protected outlet? If not, recommend you get a UPS battery backup unit.

Even w/ the dock, how are you supporting more than one external monitor w/ 2020 M1 MBA? DisplayLink?
thank you for your help!