Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vett93

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 27, 2014
California
After upgrading Lightroom to its latest version, I've found my 2013 Mac Pro too slow. It is even sluggish to apply, say, a gradient filter. So I am thinking to replace it with a Mac Mini with BlackMagic eGPU. I think the new M1 chip is great. But it may need a few years to stablize.

I am an Machine Learning/AI software developer. Most of my ML/AI work is done in AWS/Azure/GCP. So I need a responsive browser (Chrome or Safari). Photography is my hobby. I don't do video. But I have quit a few photography post processing software programs. I want to have a quiet machine. That is a key reason I want to stay with Mac.

I am thinking to get an i7 Mac Mini with 8GB of RAM and get Crucial or OWC 64GB RAM kit. For storage, I'll get 1TB or 2TB built-in SSD in the Mac Mini.

Currently, my Mac Pro has 3 4K monitors and 1 HD monitor. In the regular work mode, I use the 32" 4K monitor. When I do video conferencing, I'll turn on the HD monitor and move some tools to the HD monitor. When I do photography processing, I'll turn on the 43" 4K monitor as the 2nd monitor for Lightroom. I also have a 27" 4K monitor on a stand desk. When I want to stand up and work, I turn on this 27" 4K monitor and mirror it to the 32" 4K monitor.

Will I be happy with the 6-core i7 Mac Mini with BlackMagic eGPU?

Stephen.R

Suspended
Nov 2, 2018
Thailand
I don't know the specifics of what resources Lightroom uses most. In terms of GPU it *seems* like the Rx580 will be about triple the flops of a single D300, so maybe ~1.5x the pair of them, assuming Lightroom can use both?