Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Steven SANH

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 27, 2023
Australia
I have a 14PM and have never used AirTags, so have some questions...

I plan on buying a pack of four. However once I initiate and set them up in the FindMy app; is there an option to disable the tracking feature when not needed? I ask this, as do they constantly use cellular data and slightly drain on the iPhone? It seems a cumbersome way to have to remove the AirTag battery.
I need some insight on AirTag experience! 🤔

Steven SANH

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 27, 2023
Australia
I’ve never noticed battery issues.
You’re over thinking it.
I'm new to Apple and iPhones and still have lots to learn. I've also read that AirTags only have a practical range of 10 meters. I'm wondering if Tile is a viable option?

Craig@theapplegeek

macrumors newbie
May 20, 2021
Stockport
AirTags use the find my network built in to Apple devices, you should stand a better chance of finding a lost item, compared to people with the Tile app installed.

Last edited:
Reactions: iDaniel88

thekidat

macrumors regular
Jun 29, 2017
Bay Area, CA
I'm new to Apple and iPhones and still have lots to learn. I've also read that AirTags only have a practical range of 10 meters. I'm wondering if Tile is a viable option?
I recently just went on vacation and stuck an AirTag in my luggage. My bag got left behind at a previous airport, and I was able to open the Find My app and see exactly where it was. Since a lot of people have iPhones, it’s a robust network to find lost items. Worked perfectly, and I was able to tell the airline exactly where my bag was.

5gsumdae

macrumors member
May 4, 2020
I have a couple of vehicles stored remotely with AirTags and get a location update indicating they are still in place whenever someone with an iPhone is nearby.

erihp

macrumors 6502
Apr 21, 2020