Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

joelovesapple

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 25, 2006
UK
As per the question, does anybody use him/her? I still haven't found a valid reason to use it, only to play about with every now and then. I think it's pretty cool that it's there though in case I feel a need to use it haha.

PS I searched before posting and found no other like this. Thanks.

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
As per the question, does anybody use him/her? I still haven't found a valid reason to use it, only to play about with every now and then. I think it's pretty cool that it's there though in case I feel a need to use it haha.

I have used Siri on the Mac only a few times. I kind of forget about it.

A side note, there has been a Siri-like feature on the Mac for as along as I have been using Macs since the mid 1990's.

In many ways, it was better than Siri. One better feature was the ability to name "Siri" whatever you wanted. The default name was "computer", but you could rename it.

It could be set to always listen, listen with a toggle press of a button, or listen with a button press. It could start and stop music, open apps, tell jokes, and much more. All this before Siri or the iPhone was thought of.

Reactions: joelovesapple

eltoslightfoot

macrumors 68020
Feb 25, 2011
No. Not even once. First thing I disable. Same with Cortana on Windows. I edit group policies to get rid of Cortana on Windows. That is what my phone is for. ;)

an-other

macrumors 6502
Aug 12, 2011
Generally no. it's handy for calculations. Beats having to pull up the calculator app. I struggle with the calc app as my nerdish ways want to enter data with Reverse Polish notation. I invariably utter an expletive with frustration.

Jac Robinson

macrumors member
May 10, 2019