Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hejel52914

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2020
Hello,
I am a software dev and own a 2015 dual core 13" macbook pro. It has slowed down considerably and since I depend on it for my work (approx. 10hrs daily) I have to get a new laptop. My choices are below:

a] 13" 2020 i7 32GB (price 2747 Euro on Apple website)
b] 16" 2019 i7 32GB (price 3075 Euro on Apple website)

I personally like the 13" form factor as it is very portable but for 300 Euro eextra (which is not a small amount as I can get an external monitor and a keyboard for that price) I can get 16" macbook which has 2 extra cores, a dedicated GPU, better thermals and faster SSD speed but 16" feels way too big and is not portable as I travel a lot and will need a special bag to fit in 16" laptop.

Now I have read on this forum (and on reddit) that 13" 2020 i7 has heating issues and it gets very hot (and loud fans) even for simple tasks and has poor thermals. People on this forum who have this laptop, can you please confirm how has your experience with 13" 2020 i7 been, does it get very hot, how is the performance, is it a good laptop especially for software developers and as I also want to connect it with external display (for coding) does it have any problems there especially with heat? My preference is to stick with 13" so asking. Also, my use case 2/3 IDE's open, dozens of chrome tabs and browser instances, firefox and safari, Docker/Kubernetes running locally, bunch of processes running locally, Netflix, Youtube, Microsoft teams, video calls and screen recording for longer time.