Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Capeto

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 9, 2015
TL;DR Hooked up my own router to my ISP’s modem/router and it’s worked fine for years, but now I need some ports open and it’s giving me trouble. Can’t put the ISP’s modem/router in bridge mode due to their limitations. Any workarounds?

The details:

I want to preface this by saying that I consider myself “technically savvy,” in the sense that I can follow a guide to do things like jailbreaking a phone or installing software on a remote machine, and can usually Google my way out of any hiccups I come across the way. However, I have no formal, technical knowledge and anything networking-related has always given me a headache. I humbly come to you for guidance.

My ISP provides a dingy Huawei modem/router (model HG8145V5; heretofore referred to as the modem for clarity). When I moved here a few years ago and got their service, I hooked up my Netgear mesh router (an Orbi RBR50, which for clarity I will refer to as the router, and its two RBS50 satellites), turned off the WiFi on the Huawei modem to prevent signal interference, hooked everything in my network to the Orbi router, and called it a day. Everything worked just fine: streaming, videoconferences, online gaming. Apple Home accessories, Philips Hue lights, and my home alarm system were accessible in and out of my home. Even my Mac Mini running Plex was accessible outside my network. Zero complaints.

Black Friday rolls around and I see a discount on a NAS machine I had been eyeing (a Synology DS224+, the NAS for clarity) plus a couple of HDDs. I also snagged a simple, unmanaged 5-port network switch (a Linksys SE3005V2) since my router’s ports were already fully used and I’d need a couple more for the NAS.

My setup is as follows:

Fiber optic —> Huawei modem/router —> Orbi router —> Network switch —> NAS