Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tchorta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2005
Wyoming
Hey all, I am relatively new to web design. I am trying to figure out what software I should purchase, I am planning on purchasing either Studio 8 or Adobe Creative Suite Premium. I have Studio MX 2004 (edu. version) and have been using it for about a year now and really like it. I however have much more experience with Adobe products but have never even seen GoLive running. So I dunno if it would even be worth looking at. Any thoughts would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance everyone.

homerjward

macrumors 68030
May 11, 2004
fig tree
i prefer GoLive--the interface just seems so much better; more intuitive. also i have more experience with adobe cs than with mx suite. i dont know about the html dreamweaver produces but i have notices GoLive can produce some weird html, especially with font tags (around every few words sometimes)
edit (love the new edit): i dont do anything really advanced, and i dont use css or any other languages besides html, fwiw.

dornoforpyros

macrumors 68040
Oct 19, 2004
Calgary, AB
Dreamweaver!!

I feel very strongly about this as I've spent HOURS fixing up bad code golive has punched out. As homerjward said it likes to put font tags around everything.

ChicoWeb

macrumors 65816
Aug 16, 2004
California
dornoforpyros said:
Dreamweaver!!

I feel very strongly about this as I've spent HOURS fixing up bad code golive has punched out. As homerjward said it likes to put font tags around everything.

Ford or Chevy?

I prefer DW, and DW8 is AMAZING. I teach a web design course and we will be using DW8 next semester so I'm getting used to it. The CSS is 10 times better than last version, and lots of bugs have been fixed.

Demon Hunter

macrumors 68020
Mar 30, 2004