Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Appleuser201

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 12, 2018
I'm confused about dual processors... How much extra performance do you get? (Single 1.25 MDD vs dual 1.25 MDD powerMac G4) would a dual 1.25 power Mac equal or compare to the performance of a single 2ghz G4 or even a 1.6ghz G5?
Lastly, could you say a dual 1.42 GHz power mac with both processors over clocked to 1.67 GHz could give performance similar to single processor G5 systems?
I am a dual processor newbie and some help would be appreciated. What will I get from a dual processor G4 system?

davisdelo

macrumors regular
Jul 7, 2019
Fort Worth, TX
A big factor is if you’re running OS 9 or X. OS 9 only has multiprocessing benefits for specific apps and processes, where as X takes full advantage of the dual processors.

I would likely favor a dual 1.25 or higher G4 over a single 1.6 G5, all else being equal.

Reactions: Raging Dufus

z970

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2017
I've heard that DP systems about equal the performance of SP systems clocked 400mhz higher.

(Ex., 2x 1.42 G4 = 1x 1.8 G4)

Hypothetically, a DP 1.67 G4 should yield similar performance to a 2.0 G5, maybe even outperform it. People have said that the 1.42 eMac only feels marginally slower than the 1.6 iMac G5, and I'd have to agree on that front.

As for fact, here's what I do know:

What will I get from a dual processor G4 system?

A real kickass machine. Clockspeed be damned, PowerPC is powerful. :cool:

Last edited:
Reactions: TheShortTimer

XaPHER

macrumors 6502
Oct 13, 2010
Dual processors in OS X significantly improve responsiveness and increase performance at places like video playback, but direct comparison with an SP system is kind of complicated.