Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

I-user

Suspended
Original poster
Oct 17, 2017
I’m not a developer. Just an inpatient person wanting to get the iOS 12 beta. Last year I waited for the public one when it came out and that was great. I don”t really want to wait till the end of the month. I could just download the profile and go beta now.

It seems pretty stable and not too many issues. Seems like the most stable beta ever.

Any reason I should really wait for public beta?

Reno Raines

macrumors 65816
Jul 19, 2015
I thought it was just out for developers. I think you have to pay to register as a developer if I am recalling correctly.

SoYoung

macrumors 65816
Jul 3, 2015
If you have a secondary device, back up and go for it. Nothing to fear about. But I don't recommend install it on your main phone. Yes the beta is generally stable for now, but you never know what could be happen the moment you need your phone the most and you are not at home to restore back to iOS 11.

Personally, I install it on my iPads. I'll install it in a month or two on my phone if things continue to be stable enough.

bigjnyc

macrumors 604
Apr 10, 2008
Best beta I’ve ever tried by far. All of my apps work as normal, it’s much much faster than iOS 11.4, very stable... I haven’t had to restart for any reason. And my battery life has remained the same.

eoblaed

macrumors 68030
Apr 21, 2010
There’s a couple of key apps (for me) that are currently non-functional on iOS 12. Once those are patched up, I’ll probably jump in.

TheSkywalker77

macrumors 68030
Sep 9, 2017
A couple of times I've had to delete and reinstall crashing apps, or restart my phone from it. Little things that add up overtime. A decently stable beta tho and I am running it on my personal device. Definitely use a secondary device if you have one tho. Better safe than sorry.

Reactions: max2

tt061282

macrumors 6502
Mar 18, 2018
Nevada