Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mac.head.high

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 23, 2005
Los Angeles
I would love some opinions on whether I need to run ECC memory or not. I am a Pro-Tools Editor/Musican/Sound Designer/Audio Maniac and a new Mac gamer. I'm intend to drop like 4 gigs or more of RAM depending on the best price I can find, but I don't know if ECC is needed for my applications, or if it's even hindering my performance on some level(for gaming and Pro-Tools specifically). I currently have 1 gig of factory ECC RAM.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

RGunner

macrumors 6502a
Jul 3, 2002
Midnight Sun
I personally do not think ECC is needed..

Need CanadaRam's input on this.. but I would not spend my money (or anyone elses) on ECC memory. That said, if you already have ECC then you MUST continue to use ECC (unless you pull it all out).

ECC is for severe number crunching... something that 99.99 percent of users do not need (and from the looks of it.. this applies to you as well).

Thats my 2 cents, for whatever its worth :).

mac.head.high

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 23, 2005
Los Angeles
RGunner said:
Need CanadaRam's input on this.. but I would not spend my money (or anyone elses) on ECC memory. That said, if you already have ECC then you MUST continue to use ECC (unless you pull it all out).

ECC is for severe number crunching... something that 99.99 percent of users do not need (and from the looks of it.. this applies to you as well).

Thats my 2 cents, for whatever its worth :).

What of the things I've heard that running ECC RAM with Non-ECC RAM will work, but it will shutdown the ECC function?

tweakers_suck

macrumors regular
Feb 7, 2005
Los Angeles, CA
mac.head.high said: