Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lifereinspired

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 9, 2019
Hi,

I'm still fairly new to MacOS and trying to learn my way around. I have several external hard disc drives and for some reason, they don't all mount/appear in MacOS. I'm not sure what to do about it or how to get them to appear.

They are all formatted exFAT so they can easily be read across OSs. The other odd thing is that isn't always the same ones that show up or don't and they are plugged into different powered hubs. There appears to be no rhyme or reason that I can see as to why they don't show up.

I've purchased a new powered USB 3.0 hub but I had the same issue. Many showed up, a couple didn't. Reboot and different ones don't show up. Is there a limit as to how many drives will appear or some other reason? I'm completely lost as to why this would be happening.

Any help would be amazing. Thanks so much in advance!

In fact, I think I actually had MacOS do the formatting for most of them (I recently switched from NTFS to exFAT not too many months ago.

colourfastt

macrumors 65816
Apr 7, 2009
Hi,

I'm still fairly new to MacOS and trying to learn my way around. I have several external hard disc drives and for some reason, they don't all mount/appear in MacOS. I'm not sure what to do about it or how to get them to appear.

They are all formatted exFAT so they can easily be read across OSs. The other odd thing is that isn't always the same ones that show up or don't and they are plugged into different powered hubs. There appears to be no rhyme or reason that I can see as to why they don't show up.

I've purchased a new powered USB 3.0 hub but I had the same issue. Many showed up, a couple didn't. Reboot and different ones don't show up. Is there a limit as to how many drives will appear or some other reason? I'm completely lost as to why this would be happening.