Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

evanb9

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 20, 2022
After updating to Monterey 12.2.1, my external monitor no longer registers in its previous (correct) resolution. Its muuuuch lower now. I changed settings in my normal 1920x1080 resolution isnt even an option (yes I tried option+click and SMC reset). I have a second external monitor and that too has a poor resolution now. Also, some of my USB-C ports will randomly stop workign and will only resume working if I restart.
I'm a dev and need my monitors, this is actually a massive hampering to my productivity. Anyone else experiencing issues with their external displays after upgrading?

My monitor is a Samsung 31.5inch curbed curved glass monitor. My other one is just a normal 32inch Samsung. Both using HDMI-USB-C

straydoug

macrumors newbie
Feb 21, 2022
Not the exact same issue, but I've got a new 2021/M1 16" MBP running Monterey 12.2 and am unable to have more than 2 of my 4 attached external monitors display at once.

My older 2019/i9 16" MBP running Big Sur 11.6.3 has no problem displaying to these 4 monitors (they aren't high-res or anything), however because of some documented heat issues with the 2019/i9 model, I periodically experience that laptop slowing to a crawl unless I unplug the external monitors. This was the #1 reason I am upgrading to a new device, to boost my productivity with my multi-monitor setup... and as frustrating as the slowdown performance issues were with the 2019/i9 machine, at least the monitors DISPLAYED and worked without issue a reasonable percentage of the time.