Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

whoooaaahhhh

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 25, 2006
Pasadena, CA
Any thing on the rumor mill about Final Cut Studio 6? I heard something a little while back that there were going to be two Final Cut packages at NAB. The Regular Final Cut for its regular price around 1299, and then another package around 3000-5000, that would have new programs designed especially for Digital Intermediate work. Heard this from a fairly reliable source, don't quote me on the prices, and no it wasn't anyone at apple!

whoooaaahhhh

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 25, 2006
Pasadena, CA
Just as I suspected

Thanks man, sounds just like what I expected. As an editor, I hope that this will finally unseat AVID as king in the industry. It'll be interesting to see what the hardware requirements are now with the intel switch, since Mac Pros might not be out until August! Who knows!

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
Nothing like reliable rumors... Think Secret's cost for the "high end" version of Final Cut is 2-3 times more than your "reliable source" and, based on everything I've read about Red Think Secret's price of "upwards of $200,000" is way off the mark.

IMO, some things FCP is really lacking compared to Avid is a robust media manager and the multi project/multi user environment. While a hi-end finishing app would add to the "wow" factor of Final Cut and give an easier path to hi-end finishing, I hope Apple addresses some of the less glamorous, but still important short comings of FCP.

Lethal

Danksi

macrumors 68000
Oct 3, 2005
Nelson, BC. Canada
I was waiting for an NAB announcement for Final Cut Studio '6', but wasn't expecting it to be available for some time after that.

However I spotted this promotion for an Final Cut Studio discount when you buy a new PowerMac, iMac or MacBook Pro. It says it'll end June 26th.