Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacFoxG4

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 22, 2019
So after years of sitting in a drawer broken, my iPod 5th Gen (aka iPod Video) works again! It was my first ever iPod. I got it as a gift back in 2006 and used it for three years until it fell on the ground and the screen cracked. I had always intended to take it to a repair shop, but never got around to it. I had a 2nd gen iPod shuffle too at the time and that ended up being my main iPod until I got a 3rd gen Touch a couple years later. Anyway, I saw some YouTube videos where a guy fixes up old iPods and saw that the repair process didn't look that bad. I have some experience repairing laptops and compared to the dual USB iBook G3, working on an iPod seemed easy. I ordered a new screen, battery, and HDD and used some iFixit tools I already had lying around to work on the iPod. Opening it up requires a good amount of patience and effort, but I was able to do it. I initially only replaced the battery and screen as I wanted to see if my original HDD would still work.