Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ArkSingularity

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 5, 2022
I've been using my M1 Macbook Pro for about 9 months, and so far it's been an incredible replacement for my proudly "vintage" 2012. The battery life is still insanely good, so it's had me wondering more about what happens under the hood. I took both Macs and did two full charge-discharge calibration cycles and then checked Coconut Battery on each. To my amazement, the old 2012 has 1855 cycles and is at 87.3% battery health. Absolutely incredible for the original battery on a machine that is nearly a decade old!

I then checked the 2020 and I've been a little less lucky, as it's currently at 149 cycles and is at 92.4%. Definitely not shabby, but these batteries are rated for 1000 cycles, so I rushed to judgment and initially assumed Apple MUST have sent me some kind of a defective battery (ah, Apple, screwing over their customers with lithium ion batteries that, you know, act like lithium ion batteries). After realizing I was complaining about a ridiculously minor problem (Seriously, who complains about a battery with 93% health), I did some research on this and discovered that this is pretty much entirely average behavior for the M1s. They tend to degrade more rapidly within the first year or so and then level off (according to the stats of Coconut Battery users at least), so it turns out my battery was fine after all.